Bomb Shop Logo
Death Shanties - Crabs

LP / £12.00
DIGITAL / £6.75

- Shadow Boxing with Crabs
- Something Wakes Up Terrified
- Stumps
- The Life of a Wave
- Come Sunday
- Baby Dodds Is Dead
- Postcards from the Interior of a Star
- The Melting Mountain
- O! Where Is Saint George?

Death Shanties is a new mixed media balls-­to-­the-wall Free Jazz group featuring Trembling Bells founder Alex Neilson (drums), Sybren Renema (alto/baritone sax) and Lucy Stein (painting / projections). The group combine references to Medieval music, Sea Shanties and Field Hollars with the ecstatic cry of classic 1960's fire music. Stein uses primitive devotional images, food stuffs and even her own hair in visceral, highly textured painted projections making Death Shanties a unique and immersive live experience. Death Shanties debut album "Crabs" is out on August 11th 2014 on Bomb Shop.

Three tracks from the record were previewed by Wire Magazine (, who also ran a half-page review in their August issue. Airplay is confirmed on Stewart Maconie's Freak Show, and Dense PR (Berlin) are carrying out a European online & radio campaign. A full album premiere, along with an interview with Alex Neilson, is scheduled to appear on The Quietus at the end of the month.

UK TOUR: 02/08/14, Death Shanties, DCA, Dundee // 04/08/14, Death Shanties, Old Hairdresser's, Glasgow // 05/08/14, Death Shanties, The Bridge, Newcastle // 06/08/14, Death Shanties, Fuse, Bradford // 07/08/14, Death Shanties, The Cellar, Oxford // 08/08/14, Death Shanties, Supernormal festival, Oxfordshire // 10/08/14, Death Shanties, The Vortex, London // 11/08/14, Death Shanties, The Cowley Club, Brighton // 12/08/14, Death Shanties, Bristol // 13/08/14, Death Shanties, KRAAK, Manchester // 14/08/14, Death Shanties, I Thought I Heard A Sound, Riverside Live, Sheffield // 15/08/14, Death Shanties, The Puzzle Hall, Sowerby Bridge