Bomb Shop Logo
Rough Fields - Edge of the Firelight

CD / £10.00
DIGITAL / £7.50

- Manila
- Girls In Cars
- Summer on the Haight
- The Harbour Wall
- You as You
- Watery Fable
- Dead Wood, Trailer Snakes
- Geese
- Border Navigation
- Curtain Music

Rough Fields' series of limited edition cassette EPs at the end of last year stirred a range of support, from inclusion in Gilles Peterson's "Winners" of 2011 to inclusion in Clash Magazine's "Ones to Watch for 2012". Nick Luscombe (BBC Radio 3) rated flagship track "The Harbour Wall" as "One of the best songs I've heard all year", whilst a growing base of praise for James Birchall's layered atmospherics and electronic folk has built to boiling point with the appearance of this debut full-length, which will be released on Monday (26th March) as an eco-friendly CD package including a 24 page book of photography by Sarah Faraday.

"Edge of the Firelight" reveals Rough Fields' full musical scope, as the ten tracks sweep from deep, pulsating sub-grooves ("Summer On The Haight") and intense, epic crescendos ("Girls In Cars") to atmospheric sun-down jams ("Geese") and concrete explorations ("Border Navigation"). There's coherence throughout, though, not least in the album's faithful adherence to Rough Fields' usual sound sources - found objects, broken instruments, environmental sounds, sonic defects and thick, layered textures.