Bomb Shop Logo
Rough Fields

"Astonishing music" Gilles Peterson (BBC Radio 1)
"Tremendous" Lauren Laverne (BBC 6Music)
"Really rather good" Gideon Coe (BBC 6Music)
"Outstanding experimental music"
"...the new Robert Wyatt!" Nick Luscombe (BBC Radio 3)

Rough Fields is the solo project of UK-based producer James Birchall. Began in 2011 with a series of epic lo-fi cassettes on the Bomb Shop label, the Rough Fields project progressed through expansive song forms on debut album Edge of the Firelight, and surreal, dreamy pop on the High Time EP. In 2013, Birchall released the first ever solo version of Steve Reich's "Music For 18 Musicians", produced in collaboration with the composer.

The current Rough Fields live show stems from the 2013 album "Wessenden Suite" - a long-form drone piece constructed from layered field recordings. The performance involves recording environmental sound around the venue throughout the day of the performance, and then manipulating those recordings live using Max, Ableton and a series of custom built resonant filters to achieve densely layered rhythmic textures of blissful, harmonic sound. Rough Fields has recently played with Steve Hauschildt (Emeralds), Karen Gwyer, Philip Jeck, Cooly G, Actress, Gnod and James Blackshaw; he recently supported Manuel Gottsching at the UK premiere of E2 - E4 in October 2015. He has collaborated on recordings with Steve Reich, Daniel Figgis, Isnaj Dui, Yosi Horikawa, Dutch Uncles, Rejections, Hellvete and many others.


BMS040 / Wessenden Suite (2014)
BMS039 / High Time (2014)
BMS038 / Music for 18 Musicians (Rough Fields Overdubbed Version) (2014)
BMS015 / Edge of the Firelight (2012)
BMS013 / The Harbour Wall (2011)
BMS011 / You As You (2011)
RFR7001 / Watery Fable (2011)

Reviews, interviews & stuff

Data Transmission / Free Download / Rough Fields - ZERO7411310518296 (YTAC Remix)